Navigation auf


Department of Geography

IPA Lifetime Achievement Award to Wilfried Haeberli

Last week Wilfried Haeberli received the Lifetime Achievement Award of the International Permafrost Association (IPA). The award was presented at the 5th European Permafrost Conference in Chamonix.

Haeberli Lifetime Achievement Award

Prof.Wilfried Haeberli received the IPA Lifetime Achievement Award to honour his outstanding contributions to permafrost research and the permafrost community for many decades. Wilfried Haeberli is a key figure in the development of alpine permafrost research over four decades.

His publications since the 1970 have introduced new theoretical concepts, a variety of novel quantitative methods (pioneering work on BTS, drilling and geophysical methods) and illustrate the shift towards a more quantitative and modelling‐based understanding of permafrost research.

At the same time he is one of the most comprehensive permafrost researchers and his work contributes to the enhanced geomorphological, hydrological, engineering, glaciological and stratigraphic understanding of permafrost processes. In addition, he anticipated and fostered new fields of permafrost research, namely the study of glacier‐permafrost interactions, the complex nature of natural hazards in periglacial and permafrost systems, the study of ice remnants as archive of the alpine paleoclimate and the impact of climate change on permafrost systems.
His impressive impact on the permafrost community is documented by 168 ISI articles, which are cited more than 9000 times in 4000 papers.

As a main initiator of the projects PACE (Permafrost and Climate in Europe) and the Swiss Permafrost Monitoring Network (PERMOS) he has created a legacy of extremely well-documented, researched and monitored key sites and as an enthusiastic teacher and supervisor he has educated, supported and influenced a double-digit number of important permafrost researchers in numerous countries.

Isabelle Gärtner-Roer